Top stories

Demarcation in J&K may be over by the end of April, calls on polls the following: Sources

Last month’s proposals from the Demarcation Commission even caused resentment in the Jammu region.

New Delhi:

The Center will take a final call on elections in Jammu and Kashmir after the Demarcation Commission submitted its final report by the end of April. The decision will be made after the center has reviewed all aspects, including security, sources said.

“The report will be submitted to the Ministry of Justice and Justice as they have notified the Commission. And after which a summary review of Electoral Lists will be included by the Electoral Commission,” a senior government official said.

According to him, draft rolls will be published after the next three to four months and verification will be done door to door. “After all this process, it looks like the government can convene a meeting of all parties and take their opinion,” he added.

Last month’s proposals from the Demarcation Commission even caused resentment in the Jammu region. The entire BJP unit in the Suchetgarh meeting segment resigned after the Commission proposed merging the meeting with the RS Pura constituency, forcing the Commission to withdraw on its proposal.

“It’s a reserved constituency, so there’s a lot of anxiety among the people,” said a senior official.

Resentment is also growing in parts of the Rajouri, Doda, Kishtwar and Ramban districts against the new election card, which involves significant changes.

The Commission has proposed six new constituencies in the Jammu region – to be cut from the Udhampur, Rajouri, Doda, Kathua, Samba and Kishtwar districts.

That would take the strength of the Hindu majority region to 43, compared to the existing 37 in the Jammu and Kashmir assembly. One new seat has been proposed for Kashmir, which will be carved out in Kupwara district, taking the Muslim majority’s existing score of 46 seats in the legislature to 47.

Led by retired Judge Ranjana Prakash Desai and consisting of Chief Electoral Commissioner Sushil Chandra and State Electoral Commissioner KK Sharma, the Commission was established on March 6, 2020, with a term of one year extended by another year. While the term would expire on March 6, 2022, a two-month extension was granted.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button