Indian Premier League 2022: Andre Russell’s Allround Heroics Powers KKR to Big Win in Must-Win Match | Cricket News

Andre Russell scored 49 runs unbeaten with the bat and took three wickets with the ball to lead Kolkata Knight Riders on Saturday after a 54-run win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 2022 at the MCA Stadium in Pune. Andre Russell (49) and Sam Billings (34) shone with the bat, while Russell also took three wickets and Tim Southee played with two wickets each for Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR is currently in sixth place on the points ladder with 12 points. SRH is in eighth place with ten points.

Sunrisers Hyderabad chased 178 and got off to a solid start with opening batsmen Abhishek Sharma and Kane Williamson crossing boundaries. But the opening duo could no longer stand as Andre Russell removed Williamson for 9 runs to give KKR an early breakthrough.

Sharma looked good and Sunil Narine batted for two sixes in the eighth over. Rahul Tripathi tried to anchor a partnership with aggressive batsman Abhishek Sharma, but was sent back to the pavilion by Tim Southee after scoring just 9 runs.

It brought explosive batsman Aiden Markram to join the opening to continue the proceedings. They built a partnership with the right mix of aggression and caution needed for a 178-run chase. However, this stand could not last long either, as Sharma was caught behind by keeper Sam Billings of Varun Chakaravarthy’s delivery for 43.

The next batsman Nicholas Pooran could not stay long either, as he was suspended by Narine. At the end of 13 overs, SRH was 84/4, with Washington Sundar (1 *) and Aiden Markram (18 *) on the pole. At this point, the team needed a great partnership.

Markram targeted spinner Chakaravarthy and smashed 13 runs in the 14th over of the innings. At this point, SRH needed 87 runs in 36 balls. However, it could not last long as Markram was bowled by Umesh Yadav for 32 of 25. Markram’s wicket put SRH under a lot of pressure as their midfield order has not yet clicked this season.

Hyderabad crossed the 100-run mark in the 15th over. The young Shashank Singh came along the fold to join Sundar. In the last two overs, SRH needed a miracle to score 68 runs to win.

Marco Jansen was kicked off by Russell at the end of the 18th over for 11 with a catch by Billings, which brought Bhuvneshwar Kumar to the post.

In the 19th over of the innings, Southee kicked off Shashank Singh for 11 runs. SRH finished 123/8 in their 20 overs and lost the match by 54 runs.

Earlier, a 63-run stand between Sam Billings (34) and Andre Russell Kolkata propelled Knight Riders to a solid 177/6 in their 20 overs at MCA Stadium in Pune on Saturday.

It was a solid day for KKR with a bat, as everyone made useful contributions that took the side to a solid score. Umran Malik was the bowlers’ choice for SRH and once again impressed with three scalps in his kitty.

Kolkata Knight Riders batted first and got off to a shaky start as opening batsman Venkatesh Iyer was bowled by pacemaker Marco Jansen for just 7 in the second over of the match.

This brought batsman Nitish Rana to the fold. Things were not really good for KKR until the fourth over because the duo of Jansen and Bhubaneshwar Kumar kept the run tight.

The other opening batsman Ajinkya Rahane and compatriot Rana started their attack on SRH bowlers in the fifth over which brought them to a great score towards the end of the match.

The fifth and sixth overs bowled by pacemakers T Natarajan and Jansen were bowled for 18 and 17 runs respectively, driving Knight Riders to a solid 55/1 at the end of the match, with Rana (24 *) and Rahane (20 *) who was standing. tall.

The pair continued their strong performance before tempo sensation Umran Malik fired Rana for 26 of 16 with the help of Shashank Singh’s safe hands, which ended a 48-run run between the duo.

This brought captain Shreyas Iyer onto the field, who welcomed Malik with a four over the back point. Malik finished the over at a high and got Rahane for 28 of 24 with Shashank Singh taking another catch.

This brought the Englishman Sam Billings to the fore. In the 10th over, Iyer was Malik’s next victim as he was sacked after being caught by Rahul Tripathi on deep midfield for 15 of 9.

Towards the end of 10 overs, KKR lost the momentum initially gained via Rana-Rahane’s stand, as they stood at 83/4 with Sam Billings (3 *), who was joined by Rinku Singh. Singh was eventually suspended for Natarajan in the 12th over and scored only 5. With that, half of KKR was back in the pavilion at a score of 94.

Andre Russell came down the fold, with a responsibility to stab a match-saving stand and muscle his way through the SRH bowling attack. He and Billings resumed the rebuilding efforts for KKR with some strike rotation and some heavy hits occasionally.

At the end of 15 overs, KKR stood at 119/5, with Billings (15 *) and Russell (16 *). Billings hit Malik for two consecutive fours in the 16th over, which ended on an expensive note for the pacemaker, gave up 10 runs, ended his game with three wickets and conceded 33 runs.

The next over by Kumar went for 13 runs. Natrajan took the ball in the 18th over with the responsibility of stopping the run flow in dead overs. The duo brought their 50 runs stand in 36 balls. The very next ball was smashed by Billings for a six to help Knight Rider sail over the 150-run notch.

Bhuvaneshwar was back with the 19th over and he got the breakthrough for SRH by kicking off Billings for 34 of 29, which ended the 63 runs between the duo.

KKR eventually finished 177/6 in their 20 overs, thanks to Russell’s explosive attack on Washington Sundar, which hit him for three sixes. Russell finished at 49 *, while Sunil Narine finished at 1 *.


Umran Malik was the bowlers’ choice for SRH, who finished with 3/33 in four overs. Kumar, Jansen and Natarajan each got one wicket.

Short counts:Kolkata Knight Riders 177/6 (Andre Russell 49 *, Sam Billings 34, Umran Malik 3/33) vs Sunrisers Hyderabad 123/8 (Aiden Markram 32, Shashank Singh 11; Andre Russell 3/22).

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button