Indian Premier League 2022: From David Warner to Virat Kohli, list of all Orange cap winners | Cricket News

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 season is upon us and all eyes will be on the batsmen who would watch to set the stage on fire and win that Orange cap. This particular award is given to the batsman who manages to score the most runs in the entire IPL edition. From Shaun Marsh in the first season to Ruturaj Gaikwad in the last issue, let’s see who all won the Orange Cap in the last few seasons of the tournament.

Australian batsman David Warner is the only player to have won the Orange cap three times in the history of the tournament.

List of all Orange Cap winners in the history of IPL:

Shaun Marsh (2008)

The south leg played for the Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) in the first edition of the IPL and he went on to score 616 runs at an average of 68.44 runs with his highest score of 115. This performance by the batsman helped reach the franchise. the semifinals.

Matthew Hayden (2009)

Hayden represented Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the second edition of the tournament and with this special mongoose bat the left-handed batsman scored 572 runs in the IPL season played in South Africa. The batsman scored five 50+ scores this season.

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

Mumbai Indians had a weak first two seasons in the IPL, but captain Tendulkar’s revival in the 2010 edition helped the franchise reach the finals. Tendulkar scored 618 runs, including five fifties. His average was 47.53 and he had the highest score of 89 in that particular season.

Chris Gayle (2011 and 2012)

It’s hard to imagine that Gayle was not sold at the 2011 IPL auction, but halfway through he was selected by Royal Challengers Bangalore as a replacement. In the 2011 edition, the batsman scored 608 runs, including two centuries. He then repeated his performance in the 2012 edition and he went on to score 733 runs with seven fives and one hundred.

Michael Hussey (2013)

By playing for CSK, Hussey managed to pile up 733 runs at an average of 52.35 using six fifties. Hussey formed a formidable opening wicket partnership with Murli Vijay and the duo became a major headache for all oppositions.

Robin Uthappa (2014)

In Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) IPL winning run, Uthappa played a big role as he scored 660 runs in the entire tournament. Together with Gautam Gambhir, he has given a good opening for the franchise in almost every game. At one point, KKR was left behind, but it was Uthappa who acted and took the season by the neck.

David Warner (2015, 2017 and 2019)

Warner is one of the most decorated players in the history of the IPL and therefore it is no surprise that the south leg managed to win the Orange cap three times. In the 2015 edition, he won it for the first time after scoring 562 runs while playing for the SunRisers Hyderabad. In 2017, Warner then scored 641 runs and one that most will not forget, if it were not for the brilliance of Virat Kohli, Warner would have won the Orange Cap in 2016, as well as he collected an incredible 848 runs. The Australian batsman finally won the award again in 2019 after scoring 692 runs, including 8 fifties and one hundred.

Virat Kohli (2016)

Kohli has scored nearly 1,000 runs in an entire season and that speaks volumes of the skill the batsman really has. He took RCB on his own to the finals of the 2016 season and it was his wicket in the top game against SunRisers Hyderabad that was a turning point and it allowed Warner’s team to win the title. In the 2016 season, Kohli scored 973 runs with the help of seven fifties and four centuries.

Kane Williamson (2018)

Leading SunRisers Hyderabad in the absence of David Warner was no easy task, but Kane Williamson took it like a fish taking water. The Kiwi captain scored 735 runs this season which helped his franchise reach the final, only to fall short against Chennai Super Kings in the summit.

KL Rahul (2020)

Rahul led the Punjab Kings and scored 670 runs and no one can forget his knockout of 132 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). Throughout the season, Rahul recorded five fifties and one century. His team may not have made it to the playoffs, but Rahul’s performance was definitely the standout in the 2020 season.


Ruturaj Gaikwad (2021)

In the 2020 season, CSK captain MS Dhoni famously said that management is incapable of seeing “spark in youngsters”, and Ruturaj Gaikwad really showed what he is made of in the next issue. The batsman won the Orange cap in 2021 after scoring 635 runs, including four fifties and one hundred. This achievement was the biggest reason he was retained by the franchise before IPL 2022’s mega auction.

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button