IPL 2022: Captains of all 10 franchises | Cricket News

The upcoming season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will start in less than a week. Apart from the already existing eight teams, two new franchises – Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans – will also compete for the IPL trophy. While some of the teams have retained their core group of players as well as their captain, some have decided to go with a fresh mindset this season. Three players will make their captaincy debut in this season’s IPL, which starts on Saturday 26 March.

Before the start of IPL 2022, here is a list of all the captains:

1. Mayank Agarwal (Punjab Kings)

Mayank Agarwal is one of the three players who will make his IPL captaincy debut this season. Mayank will lead Punjab Kings (PBKS) in IPL 2022 and replace KL Rahul at the helm.

KL Rahul (Lucknow Super Giants)

After leading PBKS the past few seasons, KL Rahul will start a new chapter in this season’s IPL. Rahul was picked up by the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) ahead of the IPL mega-auction last month and will also lead the team in their first season, at least.

3. Rohit Sharma (Mumbai Indians)

Rohit Sharma will lead Mumbai Indians (MI) for the 10th consecutive season. He has led MI to five IPL titles in the past two seasons, including rugby titles in 2019 and 2020.

Ravindra Jadeja (Chennai Super Kings)

Ravindra Jadeja will lead CSK this season after MS Dhoni announced that he will resign from the leadership role this season. It will be interesting to see how CSK fare this season with a new captain coming in.

5. Hardik Pandya (Gujarat Titans)

Hardik Pandya is another player who will make his IPL captaincy debut this season. Hardik, who was drafted by the Gujarat Titans before the auction last month, will have a point to prove in the franchise’s first season in the IPL.

6. Faf du Plessis (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Faf du Plessis has a lot of experience leading teams, but he has never had the opportunity to lead an IPL team. With Virat Kohli stepping down as captain last season, however, RCB made du Plessis show up at the auction, and was later revealed as the team captain for the upcoming season.

7. Kane Williamson (SunRisers Hyderabad)

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson will lead SRH in the coming season after being retained by the 2016 champions for Rs 14 crore during the IPL retention window. Williamson has a lot of captaincy experience, and also led the franchise last season.

8. Shreyas Iyer (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Shreyas Iyer will lead KKR in the upcoming season of the IPL. KKR has decided not to keep former captain Eoin Morgan, even though the team reached the final last season. Iyer, who has been released by the Delhi Capitals, will have a point to prove as captain this season.

9. Rishabh Pant (Delhi Capitals)

After an impressive debut season last year, Rishabh Pant will lead the Delhi Capitals for the second full season in IPL 2022. He led the team to the playoffs last season, and will hope to finally end the franchise’s wait for the elusive title triumph.


10. Sanju Samson (Rajasthan Royals)

Rajasthan Royals did not have the best campaigns last season, even though they won six games, as they eventually finished second bottom in the standings. Captain Sanju Samson will be hoping he can bring a lot more to the franchise this season. RR has not won the IPL since the first campaign in 2008.

Topics mentioned in this article

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button