Tamil Magan Hussain elected AIADMK Presidium Chairman; Question about double headship

Chennai (Tamil Nadu):

Tamil Magan Hussain was elected All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) Presidium chairperson during the party’s general council meeting on Thursday.

Until now, he has been the interim presidency chairman.

Meanwhile, all 23 resolutions at the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) General Council meeting were rejected. Mr. Hussain announced that it has been decided to hold the next general board meeting of AIADMK on July 11, 2022 at 9.15 am.

After the resolutions were rejected, supporters of O Panneerselvam, who wanted the dual leadership format in the party to continue, went on strike.

“All members have rejected all 23 resolutions and the only demand of General Committee members is on single leadership. When the next General Committee meeting is convened, it will all be adopted along with resolutions for single leadership,” said AIADMK Deputy Coordinator KP Munusamy.

AIADMK’s general council meeting is underway at Shrivaaru Venkatachalapathy Palace in Chennai’s Vanagaram. Former Prime Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami, former Deputy Prime Minister O Panneerselvam and other party leaders are present at the meeting.

Following the death of J Jayalalithaa in 2016, the party followed a dual leadership formula with Mr Palaniswami (known as EPS) as coordinator and Mr Panneerselvam (or OPS) as coordinator.

Mr Palaniswami is all for single leadership in the party and his camp is keen to adopt a resolution in this regard at the June 23 meeting, while Mr Panneersevelam claims that the general body cannot adopt the resolution without his signature as per party ‘s ordinances.

(Except for the headline, this story has not been edited by techlives staff and is being published from a syndicated stream.)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button